OUR CHURCH

We are a church family that welcomes all those who seek the fellowship of Christ.

 

We are a church family that not only invites, but welcomes all those who seek the fellowship of Christ, and would endeavor to be an integral part of the mission of our church. Our church first gathered in 1782, at which time our original members entered into a covenant in worship every week and it remains at the heart of our life together as the Body of Christ.

 

North Stamford Community Church is a community of faith rooted in the love of God. We believe worship is not just found in prayer, it’s something expressed in everything we do. Our philosophy is deeply rooted in the Holy Scriptures, life’s only guidebook. Come and join us to experience God’s grace for yourself. There’s a special place for you at our welcoming Stamford church.

WHO WE ARE

NSCC Covenant

We do enter into covenant with God and with each other to walk in all the commandments and ordinances of the Lord, and to watch over and assist each other in love and faithfulness, and to devote ourselves with all we have to the service of Christ, and to promote the interest of His Kingdom.

United Church of Christ

In 1961, by membership vote, the North Stamford Community Church became a participating church in the United Church of Christ. The church is a supporting member of the Inter Faith Council of Southwestern Connecticut, state and county denominational bodies, and maintains relationships with community agencies and outreach projects.

Rich in History

The North Stamford Community Church dates back to pre-Revolutionary times, when families gathered in farmhouses for religious meetings as early as December 1742. Legally established through approval of the Connecticut State Legislature in 1781, the church gathered as an independent society on June 4, 1782. Twenty-two founding members, representing 10 families, signed a lengthy covenant, which created the church. Like other Colonial churches, the society exercised civil and religious authority for many years. Read more about our rich history here.

THE GUILD HOUSE

The Margaret D. Givens Guild House, dedicated in 1952, provides church offices and a meeting room. Originally the one-room North Stamford School, this building was received from the town of Stamford in 1913 and moved from where the Stone House now stands to its present site behind the meeting house.

THE MEMORIAL GARDEN AND COLUMBARIUM

The Memorial Garden and Columbarium is a private sanctuary where one can sit peacefully on memorial benches and reflect on the lives of those who are interred in the garden. Stone walls house loved ones’ remains in individual niches. The perennial gardens are maintained by church members who love to garden and are beautiful in every season. The Columbarium is complete with a simple cross on the hillside overlooking the gardens.

HELPING PEOPLE FOLLOW JESUS